Simple Yet Effective; Technology drives Sales

I had an interesting encounter with a young chap yesterday. Mind you, not that I am any old 🙂

In one of the Christmas festivities that I attended yesterday, there was a small outlet selling home made chocolates, yum ! Well, as I was passing by, I noticed a QR Code displayed there. This surprised me because, firstly, I did not expect many people to know about the QR Code in the local circuit here and secondly, I really did not expect a small chocolate outlet to display this.

We stuck up an instant conversation and I found out that not many, in fact, very few customers of his knew about the QR Codes. This was not surprising. However surprising was the fact that most of his sales were to people who had come to inquire about the maze like looking QR Code. Many kids were trying to identify Alphabets that funnily appeared hidden in the code. On being shown that the QRC actually lead to the Facebook page on a smart phone, their smiling moms had little choice, but to buy them the chocolates.

This is an interesting case wherein that chap did not try to sell, but the innovative marketing drove sales.

Needless to say, I too bought those beauties.

Do you have any stories to share? If yes, please do.

Aditya

This entry was posted in Marketing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

